Welcome to ASC Records

Out Now: ASC CD143 Derelict (£6) Steve Plews / Ed Jones

"...explores darkly urban, alienating soundscapes, rebalanced by regular moments of quiet tenderness...a frank, heartfelt offering...conveying between the rugged lines a warm humanity" Lara Bellini review

itunes amazon

Long time colleagues and friends Ed Jones and Steve Plews team up here on Derelict, a departure into the world of free improvisation for both musicians yet somehow retaining their musical identity. Always structured, always lyrical, there is nothing random about this collection.

Plews plays electric violin, drums and prepared piano, Ed Jones (tenor and soprano saxes, percussion) scurries and flurries his way round the various soundscapes, the two creating at times an ironic musical conversation. Not for the faint hearted but there is something here for every musical, enquiring mind.

Re-release: ASC CSCD51 Horizons - new music for oboe and harp (£10) Okeanos

Jinny Shaw oboe | Lucy Wakeford harp


Compositions by Philip Grange, Lynne Plowman, Howard Skempton and Judith Bingham

ASC Reviews

ASC CD141 Paisean
"Jones does his magisterial stuff upfront...This quartet knows its way around jazz forms and offers not a few surprising amendments of its own." Jazz Journal, 03/13.

ASC CD135 Day of Reckoning
"A wonderfully varied programme..." Northern Echo, 01/13
"...the overall mood is swinging but edgy, with Jones wailing mightily." Independent, 06/12.
"Jones is formidable throughout..." Jazzwise, 08/12.

ASC CD133 secret spaces vol 2
"...a handsomely conceived and produced disc." Jazzwise, 08/12.
"A totally original, well paced programme and an innovative approach to jazz piano trio..." Jazz Journal, 08/12.

ASC CD131 Dragonfly
"... an oasis of unpretentious, nimble-fingered wit...the interplay with American bassist Joseph Lepore and drummer Nasheet Waits is terrific."
The Telegraph, 01/12.

See ASC Artists Live

Gavin Barras Jonathan Gee Julian Joseph
Gavin Barras Jonathan Gee Julian Joseph